top of page

Kindle Vella (Oh I'm loving it!)

In 2021, Kindle Vella quietly released because Amazon felt it was missing out on Patreon style revenue. They weren't wrong and I did try Patreon, but it's not my style. I gave it thirty days which is about average for me and a new option for almost anything. If it takes me more than 30 days to make a few pennies, get a few views, etc, it's probably not going to work for me. Most "experts" say 90 days. I'm working on my patience level.

Vella I didn't have to wait 30 days so that's a win. And double win, they pay me just for people pushing the like button on the episodes even the free ones. So I'm going to release all books to Vella for a "sneak peak" then transfer to Kindle after the 30 days (or when I remember as I'm overdue on the last two I posted) Their rules: Each episode is 600-5000 words. First three episodes are free. You can not publish the story in another format until the last episode has been live for 30 days.

Cover is 1600*1600 px (Template on Canva with a circle so you don't have text cut unlike the below)


Youtube Video to view the process. No, your speakers aren't broken there is no sound. Now what I don't like (other than the way pictures work on this blog, sigh) I don't like that: I can't link all the Vella through my name so they are easy to find I can't publish until the 30 days so I'm splitting the novels/novellas into more than one post instead of making it fully serial. They need to fix it so that once an episode is over 30 I have the option rather than the last post all together.

I don't like that I have to upload a word document (Accepted formats: DOC, DOCX) to keep my formatting of italics and bold or go put them back in manually. Copy and paste should work fine but noooo. I don't like the circle cover. I made the covers before this was an option and of course want them to be consistent, in the future I'm sure I'll do better.


FSK Links and Wolfs End





































Recent Posts
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
RSS Feed
bottom of page